Workshop on the Arithmetic of Finite Fields **WAIFI 2010**

www.waifi.org



Istanbul, Turkey June 27-30, 2010

Call for Papers

This workshop is a forum of mathematicians, computer scientists, engineers and physicists performing research on finite field arithmetic, interested in communicating the advances in the theory, applications, and implementations of finite fields. The workshop will help to bridge the gap between the mathematical theory of finite fields and their hardware/software implementations and technical applications.

This will be the 3rd WAIFI workshop. WAIFI 2007 was held in Madrid (Spain), and WAIFI 2008 was held in Siena (Italy). The topics of WAIFI 2010 include but are not limited to:



Theory of finite field arithmetic:

- o Bases (canonical, normal, dual, etc.)
- Polynomial factorization, irreducible polynomials
- \circ Primitive elements
- o Prime fields, binary fields, extension fields, etc.
- o Elliptic and hyperelliptic curves

Hardware & software implementations:

- Design & implementation of finite field processors
- Design & implementation of arithmetic algorithms

- \circ Pseudorandom number generators
- \circ Hardware/software co-design
- o IP (Intellectual Property) components
- $\circ \ Field \ programmable \ and \ reconfigurable \ systems$

Applications of finite fields:

- o Cryptography
- $\circ \ Communication \ systems$
- Error correcting codes
- o Quantum computing

Authors are invited to submit **original research** papers. Electronic submission will be strongly encouraged. A detailed description of the electronic submission procedure will appear on the WAIFI webpage. The submission should begin with a title, author list, a short abstract, and a list of keywords. The paper should be at most 16 pages, using at least 11-point font and reasonable margins.

- o Submission deadline: February 8th, 2010
- Acceptance notification: March 25th, 2010
- o Final version due: April 7th, 2010

The proceedings will be published in the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series in time for distribution at the workshop.

In order to be included in the proceedings, the authors of an accepted paper must guarantee to present their contribution at the workshop. More detailed information on instructions for authors, paper submission, technical program, accomodation, travel and registration will be posted on the Workshop web site: http://www.waifi.org

Program Committee:

- o Daniel Augot, INRIA, France
- o Roberto Avanzi, Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany
- o Jean-Claude Bajard, LIP6 CNRS/U. Pierre et Marie Curie, France o Alexander Kholosha, University of Bergen, Norway
- o Luca Breveglieri, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
- \circ Stephen Cohen, University of Glasgow, Scotland, UK
- o Cunsheng Ding, Hong Kong Univ. of Science and Technology, China o Julio López, UNICAMP, Brasil
- o Serdar Erdem, Gebze Institute of Technology, Turkey
- o Haining Fan, Tsinghua University, China
- o Olav Geil, Aalborg University, Denmark
- o Guang Gong, University of Waterloo, Canada
- \circ Jorge Guajardo, Philips Research, The Netherlands
- o Darrel Hankerson, Auburn University, USA
- o Anwar Hasan (Program co-Chair)

- o Tor Helleseth (Program co-Chair)
- o José L. Imaña, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
- o P. Vijay Kumar, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
- \circ Tanja Lange, Technical Univ. of Eindhoven, The Netherlands
- o Gary McGuire, University College Dublin, Ireland
- \circ Eiji Okamoto, ${\it University~of~Tsukuba,~Japan}$
- o Alexander Pott, University of Magdeburg, Germany
- o Francisco Rodríguez-Henríquez, Cinvestav, Mexico
- o Erkay Savas, Sabanci University, Turkey
- o Igor Semaev, University of Bergen, Norway
- o Patrick Solé, Télécom ParisTech, France

General co-Chairs:

- o Çetin K. Koç, UCSB, USA, & Istanbul Şehir University, Turkey
- o Ferruh Özbudak, Middle East Technical University, Turkey

Financial, Local arrangements Chairs:

- o Murat Cenk, Çankaya University, Turkey
- o Gökay Saldamlı, Boğaziçi University, Turkey
- \circ Zülfükar Saygı, $TOBB\ ETU,\ Turkey$

Program co-Chairs:

- o Anwar Hasan, University of Waterloo, Canada
- o Tor Helleseth, University of Bergen, Norway

Publicity Chair:

o Claude Carlet, University of Paris 8, France